VisionScienceList: Second Call for Papers-Sibgrapi'98

Andréa Gomes Campos (
Thu, 26 Mar 1998 13:57:28 -0300


SECOND Call for Papers - SIBGRAPI'98


You are invited to submit contributions and participate
in SIBGRAPI'98, the 1998 International Symposium on
Computer Graphics, Image Processing and Vision. The 11th
edition of the SIBGRAPI, the most prestigious Brazilian
series of meetings in related areas, now in its first
international version, SIBGRAPI'98 will take place at
IMPA (Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics), in
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in October 1998. The Proceedings
of SIBGRAPI'98 are expected to be published by the IEEE
Computer Society.

Two basic categories of paper submissions are being
full papers (8 pages) and
short papers (4 pages).

While full papers should report original and reasonably
mature work, short papers may describe ongoing work,
applications, and undergraduate research.

Full papers should be written in English and presented
orally in English or as posters (English or Portuguese).
Short papers should be written in English or Portuguese
and presented as posters.

Full and short papers will be published electronically
(Web and, possibily, CD-ROM), but the Proceedings will
include only the former (i.e. full papers).

Authors are advised to refer to the SIBGRAPI'96 and 97
homepages (addresses below), in order to familiarize with
the adopted style and format.


The instructions to authors are now available from the
SIBGRAPI'98 homepage, to be found at:

A number of Panels are being expected as part of the
SIBGRAPI'98 programme. Such panels, which can be short
(2 hours) or long (4 hours). Panels may be used for
discussion on educational issues, technology,
applications,as well as for discussion and evaluation of
distinct approaches to a same problem.

Panels are proposed by a coordinator, who is allowed to
invite the other participants, each of which is
expected to deliver a 10 to 20 minutes presentation,
followed by questions and debate.

Panel proposals, to be sent to:

no later than 10th May 1998, should include:

(a) title;
(b) name of coordinator and participants;
(c) objectives;
(d) abstract of each planned presentation; and
(e) resume of coordinator and participants,
emphasizing expertise in the related subjects.

The assessment of the proposals will take into account
the following aspects:

(a) relevance;
(b) potential to attract interest from the audience;
(c) originality; and
(d) experience of the coordinator and participants
in related areas.

Major Topics of interest (papers and panels) include but
are not limited to the following:

Geometric modeling
Computational geometry
Image synthesis
Graphical user interfaces
Animation and Simulation
Virtual reality
Multimedia and Hypermedia
Graphical databases
Medical imaging
Mathematical Morphology
Computer architectures for Computer Graphics,
Image Processing, and Vision
Statistical signal processing
Multiresolution signal processing and analysis
Multidimensional signal processing and analysis
Video processing and analysis
Remote sensing
Image compression
Pattern recognition
Image segmentation
Robotic vision
Active vision
Dynamic contours
Selective attention
Neural networks for visual computation
Artificial intelligenge for visual computation
Visual neuroscience
Visual perception and cognition


24th Apr. 1998 - Full and Short Papers submitted to
Program Committee by every author;

10th May 1998 - Panel proposals sent to Program Committee;

5th June 1998 - Assessment results sent to authors;

10th June 1998 - Eventual comments by authors sent to
the Program Committee by every author;

26th June 1998 - Final results regarding the acceptance
of submissions;

6th July 1998 - Final version of papers and communications
sent to Program Committee.

20-23rd Oct. 1998 - SIBGRAPI'98



International Section:

Luciano da Fontoura Costa (Coordinator),
Cybernetic Vision Research Group, IFSC,
University of Sco Paulo, Brazil
Alexander Stoyen,
Real-Time Computing Laboratory,
New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA
Andrew Glassner,
Graphics Group,
Microsoft Corporation, USA
Arie E. Kaufman,
Department of Computer Computer Science,
State Univ. of New York at Stony Brook , USA
Azriel Rosenfeld,
Center for Automation Research,
University of Maryland, USA
Christine Giger,
Graphic Information System,
Darmstadt, Germany
Daniel Thalmann, Computer Graphics Lab,
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland
David Breen,
Computer Graphics Laboratory, CalTech, USA
Georgios Sakas,
Fraunhofer Institut fur Graphische Datenverarbeitung, Germany
Gerald Kaiser,
Department of Mathematical Sciences,
University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA
Helder Araujo,
University of Coimbra, Portugal
James A. Sethian,
Dept. Mathematics,
University of California Berkeley, USA
Jose Luis Encarnacao,
Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany
Kiriakos N. Kutulakos,
Dept. Computer Science,
University of Rochester, USA
Mark Sandler,
Signals and Systems Research Group, King's College,
University of London, UK
Milan Sonka,
Electrical and Computer Engineering,
The University of Iowa, USA
Paul Rosin,
Dept. Computer Science & Information Systems,
Brunel University, UK
Pierre Poulin,
Laboratoire d'infographie,
Universite de Montreal, Canada
Robert Haralick,
Dept. Electrical Eng.,
University of Washington, USA
Ruzena Bajcsy,
University of Pennsylvania, USA
Tomaso Poggio,
Dept. of Brain and Cognitive Science,
Virginio Cantoni,
Department of Computer and Systems Engineering,
Pavia University, Italy
Yoshiaki Shirai,
Mechanical Engineering for Computer-Controlled Machinery Dept.,
Osaka University, Japan

National Section:

Luciano da Fontoura Costa (Coordinator), IFSC-USP
Anna Helena Reali Costa Rillo, Poli-USP
Antonio Francisco, INPE
Bruno Feijo, ICAD, PUC-Rio
Carla Maria Dal Sasso Freitas, Instituto de Informatica, UFRGS
Junior Barrera, IME-USP
Jose Ricardo de Almeida Torreao, UFF
Luiz Pessoa, COPPE-UFRJ
Luiz Henrique de Figueiredo, LNCC
Maurence M. Anguh, UFMa
Marcelo Walter, Unisinos
Maria Cristina Ferreira de Oliveira, ICMSC-USP
Mario Fernando Montenegro Campos, DCC-UFMG
Olga Regina Pereira Bellon, DI-UFPR
Ricardo Machado, PUC-Rio
Roberto de Alencar Lotufo, FEEC-UNICAMP
Sergio Fukusima, USP-Rib. Preto


Auxiliary Committee:

Alan Salvany Felinto, IFSC-USP
Andrea Gomes Campos, IFSC-USP
Luis Augusto Consularo, IFSC-USP
Odemir Martinez Bruno, IFSC-USP



- Gilberto Camara (INPE), Presidente
- Paulo Cezar Carvalho (IMPA)
- Marcelo Gattass (PUC-Rio)
- Luiz Fernando Martha (PUC-Rio)
- Carlos Ho Shih Ning (INPE)
- Antonio Miguel Vieira Monteiro (INPE)



Prof. Luciano da Fontoura Costa
Coordinator - Cybernetic Vision Research Group
DFI-IFSC, Universidade de Sao Paulo
Caixa Postal 369
Sao Carlos, SP
FAX: +55 162 71 3616