[vslist] Cognitive Science Conference, Sydney, Australia, July, 2003

Robert P. O'Shea r_oshea at otago.ac.nz
Tue Oct 8 14:08:01 GMT 2002

		First Preliminary Announcement and
		Call for Papers, Symposia & Workshops

		Joint International Conference

4th ICCS International Conference on Cognitive Science
7th ASCS Australasian Society for Cognitive Science Conference

			13-17 July, 2003

		The University of New South Wales
			Sydney, Australia


	INVITED SPEAKERS: (*as of September 2002*)

		Daniel Kahneman (Princeton University, USA)
		Anne Treisman (Princeton University, USA)
		William F. Brewer (University of Illinois, USA)
		Tim van Gelder (Melbourne University, Australia)

	*** Additional speakers to be announced ***

We invite submissions from all contributing disciplines within Cognitive
Science, including:

			Computer science & Artificial Intelligence

Important Key Dates
1 April 2003 		Abstracts and proposals for symposia due
1 May  2003		Notice of acceptance or rejection
1 June 2003 		Full papers due
13-17 July, 2003	Conference

Submissions for papers and posters will be reviewed on the basis of abstracts.
Abstracts will be accepted via our website: http://www.cogsci.unsw.edu.au

Discussions are in progress with publishers for publication of selected,
refereed papers arising from the conference.

Proposals are invited for special streams and symposia. Planned symposia

* Music and Cognition
* Cognitive Science and Education
* Cognitive Science of Science
* Animal Cognition
* Decision Making, Risk & Behavioural Finance
* Language and Cognition
* Brain imaging
* Machine Learning
* Evolutionary psychology
* Historical Foundations of Cognitive Science
* Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatry & Psychoanalysis

Submission of proposals for symposia and workshops should be emailed to
Peter Slezak: p.slezak at unsw.edu.au

Please refer to our website for further details about the conference.  More
information will be available on the website http://www.cogsci.unsw.edu.au
as planning progresses.

We look forward to seeing you in Sydney next year.

Dr Peter Slezak (Conference Chair)
Program in Cognitive Science
School of History & Philosophy of Science
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW 2052, AUSTRALIA

Tel: (+61 2) 9385-2422
Fax: (+61 2) 9385-8003
email: p.slezak at unsw.edu.au

Conference Co-Chairs

James Kehoe, University of New South Wales
Marcus Taft, University of New South Wales

ICCS Steering Committee

Lin Chen, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China (Chair of ICCS 2001)
Chansup Chung, Yonsei University, Korea
Koiti Hasida, National Institute of Advanced Science & Technology (AIST), Japan
Kazuhiko Kakehi, Nagoya University, Japan (president of JCSS)
James Kehoe, University of New South Wales, Australia
Chungmin Lee, Seoul National University, Korea/UCLA
Jung-Mo Lee, Sung Kyun Kwan University, Korea
Charles Ling, University of Western Ontario, Canada.
Naomi Miyake, Chukyo University, Japan
Peter Slezak, University of New South Wales, Australia

Advisory Committee:

Mark Bickhard, LeHigh University, USA
Paul Compton, University of New South Wales
Jon Glass, AMP-Henderson, Australia
Evian Gordon, The Brain Dynamics Centre, Westmead Hospital, Univ of
Grahame Halford, University of Queensland
Mike Kalish, University of Western Australia
Kevin Korb, Monash University
Stephan Lewandowsky, University of Western Australia
Daniel Lovallo, Australian Graduate School of Management
Peter Lovibond, University of New South Wales
Tom Osborn, The NTF Group
Robert O'Shea, University of Otago, New Zealand
Mark Peters, University of New South Wales
Arun Sharma, National ICT Australia, University of New South Wales
M. Srinivasan, Australian National University
Shaowu Zhang, Australian National University

Local Organizing Committee:

University of New South Wales
	Mengistu Amberber,
	Peter Collins,
	Phillip Staines,
	Philip Cam,
	Anthony Corones,
	George Bindon,
	John Sweller,
	Michael Matthews,
	Iain Giblin,
	Emery Schubert,
	Charles Liu,
	Claude Sammut,
	Norman Foo,
	Peter Krebs,
	Brett Hayes

Macquarie University
	Tim Bayne,
	Max Coltheart,
	John Sutton,

The University of Sydney
	Sally Andrews
	Linda Scott

Supporting Organisations:

Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, UNSW
School of History & Philosophy of Science, UNSW
School of Psychology, UNSW
School of Computer Science & Engineering, UNSW
School of Education, UNSW


Dr. Peter Slezak
Program in Cognitive Science.
School of History & Philosophy of Science.
University of New South Wales
Sydney NSW 2052, AUSTRALIA

Tel: (+61 2) 9385-2422
Fax: (+61 2) 9385-8003
email: p.slezak at unsw.edu.au
Web Page: http://www.arts.unsw.edu.au/sts/peter_slezak.html

Robert P. O'Shea
Department of Psychology, University of Otago, PO Box 56,
Dunedin, New Zealand; phone: +64 (3) 479 7617;
fax: +64 (3) 479 8335; e-mail: r_oshea at otago.ac.nz;
home page: <http://psy.otago.ac.nz/r_oshea/>

More information about the visionlist mailing list