[visionlist] Nominations for the VSS Board of Directors Closes next Monday, March 5th

Vision Sciences Society vss at visionsciences.org
Thu Mar 1 19:41:05 GMT 2012

Nominations are open for two 4-year positions on the Vision Sciences Society
Board of Directors. The Board's responsibilities include scheduling the
Annual Meeting, implementing and monitoring VSS policies, budget oversight,
and other organizational activities. The Board meets twice a year, during
the Annual Meeting and in late January.

Any regular VSS member in good standing may be nominated, with the exception
of individuals now on the board, or who have served on the board within the
last four years.

Each nomination must be endorsed by 3 regular VSS members. One person should
email the nomination to  <mailto:shauneywilson at visionsciences.org>
shauneywilson at visionsciences.org with a cc: to the other two nominators. The
other two nominators should indicate their endorsement by forwarding the
nominating email to  <mailto:shauneywilson at visionsciences.org>
shauneywilson at visionsciences.org. Please include a recent vita and a short
paragraph describing the qualifications of the nominee, as well as an
assurance that the nominee is willing to serve.


The VSS bylaws provide for a Nominating Committee, composed of VSS members
who are highly respected scientists chosen to represent the broad range of
disciplines representative of VSS members (the VSS President chairs the
Nominating Committee). The current members of the Nominating Committee are
Randolph Blake, Oliver Braddick, Heinrich Bueltoff, Lynne Kiorpes, and
Marisa Carrasco. For each open Director position, the Nominating Committee
selects from the nominees a slate of two candidates who are highly respected
scientists and who, when added to the Board of Directors, would result in
broad representation of the disciplines representative of VSS members.

CURRENT BOARD OF DIRECTORS: ( <http://www.visionsciences.org/board.html>

The names, term-end dates and areas of expertise of the Board members are
listed below. Board terms end immediately after the VSS meeting of the year

Marisa Carrasco (2013)
Visual attention, visual search, perceptual learning, spatial vision;
psychophysics and brain imaging

Barbara Dosher (2013)
Visual memory, visual attention, perceptual learning; psychophysics and
computational modeling

Miguel Eckstein (2014) 
Visual search, attention, eye movements, spatial vision, perceptual
learning, natural images, computational modeling

Karl Gegenfurtner (2014)
Color vision, eye movements, perception and action, natural scenes, visual
cognition; psychophysics and computational modeling

Mary Hayhoe (2015)
Eye movements, visual memory, attention, natural tasks, perception and

Zoe Kourtzi (2012)
Shape processing, object recognition, perceptual learning, brain imaging

Pascal Mamassian (2012)
3D perception, binocular vision, motion, ambiguous and rivalrous perception,
multisensory perception, perception and action; psychophysics and
computational modeling

Julio Martinez (2015)
Attention, visuomotor transformation, motion; neurophysiology, psychophysics
and brain imaging 

Frans Verstraten (2014)
Motion, adaptation, attention, face perception, binocular vision, rivalry,
visual problem solving, illusions, action

Pascal Mamassian and Zoe Kourtzi will leave the Board after the Annual
Meeting in May. 

March 5, 2012 Nominations close
April 2, 2012 Election begins (online)
April 27, 2012 Election ends
May 7, 2012 Election results announced

Follow Us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/VSSMtg

Join Us on Facebook at





-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://visionscience.com/pipermail/visionlist/attachments/20120301/e1ece15f/attachment.htm>

More information about the visionlist mailing list