[visionlist] EMIP'18 Call for Papers

Roman Bednarik roman.bednarik at uef.fi
Thu Mar 22 08:11:27 -05 2018

Eye Movements in Programming 2018, emipws.org
International Workshop
co-located at ETRA 2018, 
the 10th ACM Symposium on Eye Tracking 
Research & Applications, 
Warsaw, Poland, June 17, 2018

Call for Papers

Gaze data has a high potential in research on computer programming, in 
computing education and practice. The fifth international workshop on 
Eye Movements in Programming (EMIP’2018) will focus on advancing the 
methodological, theoretical and applied aspects of eye-movements in 
programming. Previously we focused on understanding expert and novice 
source code reading behaviors, on models to interpret data, and we 
launched the first distributed data collection in this discipline. By 
analyzing the pre-shared datasets and discussion of bottom-up 
data-to-models approaches, the workshop produced new methods, tools and 
understanding of source code reading gaze patterns.

We invite contributions focusing on gaze behaviour in comprehension, 
debugging, and other tasks of programming, including social aspects, 
vision and educational perspectives. These may include, but are not 
limited to, affective computing in programming, vision based models, 
readability, and new theories of program comprehension. Contributions 
are expected to present implications to industrial programming practice 
or programming education.

Participants submit a paper (4 pages + 2 pages references) through the 
ETRA PCS submission site https://new.precisionconference.com/user/login 
All submissions will be reviewed by the program committee.

Important dates:
- deadline for papers: April 15, 2018
- feedback to authors: May 2, 2018
- workshop: June 17, 2018

Workshop chairs:
Roman Bednarik (University of Eastern Finland), Carsten Schulte 
(Paderborn University)

Program committee (confirmed):
Andrew Begel, Microsoft Research
Teresa Busjahn, Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Martha Crosby, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, USA
Fabian Deitelhoff, Dortmund University of Applied Sciences and Arts, Germany
Fabian Fagerholm, University of Helsinki
Pavel Orlov, Imperial College London, UK
James Paterson, Glasgow Caledonian University, UK
Tanya Stott, University of the Free State, South Africa
Jozef Tvarozek, Slovak University of Technology, Slovakia

Workshop website:

Paper submission (4 pages + 2 pages references ACM two column format):

Format of the submission: SIGGRAPH FORMAT. Please retrieve templates 
here: https://www.acm.org/publications/proceedings-template. Word 
authors, *please* ensure you read the appropriate manual as ACM 
formatting is very complex, and ensure you use the "sigconf" template 
style. Consider using Overleaf as an easier alternative to Word 
formatting (see template page for details). ALL AUTHORS must use the 
"author year" citation and reference format. Please refer to the 
siggraph conference template as a guide 
Papers should be submitted electronically in PDF format to EMIP-track 
through the ETRA submission 

Roman Bednarik      http://cs.uef.fi/~rbednari
School of Computing, University of Eastern Finland

More information about the visionlist mailing list