[visionlist] COSYNE 2024: Abstract submission closes soon; Cosyne Mentoring Forum is available

Tomas Hromadka tomas.hromadka at gmail.com
Tue Nov 14 18:06:36 -04 2023


Computational and Systems Neuroscience 2024 (Cosyne)

29 February - 03 March 2024
Lisbon, Portugal

04 March - 05 March 2024
Cascais, Portugal




   Abstract submission is now open.
   Abstract submission deadline: 19 November 2023 11:59pm PST


The annual Cosyne meeting provides an inclusive forum for the exchange of empirical and theoretical approaches to problems in systems neuroscience, in order to understand how neural systems function.

The MAIN MEETING is single-track. A set of invited talks is selected by the Executive Committee, and additional talks and posters are selected by the Program Committee, based on submitted abstracts. The WORKSHOPS feature in-depth discussion of current topics of interest, in a small group setting.

All abstract submissions will be reviewed double blind. The deadline for Abstract submission will be 19 November 2023.

Cosyne topics include but are not limited to: neural basis of behavior, sensory and motor systems, circuitry, learning, neural coding, natural scene statistics, dendritic computation, neural basis of persistent activity, nonlinear receptive field mapping, representations of time and sequence, reward systems, decision-making, synaptic plasticity, map formation and plasticity, population coding, attention, neuromodulation, and computation with spiking networks.

We would like to foster increased participation from experimental groups as well as computational ones. Please circulate widely and encourage your students and postdocs to apply.

When preparing an abstract, authors should be aware that not all abstracts can be accepted for the meeting. Abstracts will be selected based on the clarity with which they convey the substance, significance, and originality of the work to be presented.


Cosyne Mentoring Forum provides a platform for discussions among Cosyne participants, particularly for help with composing abstracts for the meeting and getting feedback before submission. The forum is intended to be a place to connect with other computational and systems neuroscientists and help (especially but not limited to women, people of color, people from less-privileged labs/countries/backgrounds, and other underrepresented groups). Forum members are encouraged to share advice on everything from writing a great Cosyne abstract to navigating a job search. See Cosyne.org->About->Mailing lists for details on how to subscribe and post to the forum. Mentors, we need your expertise! If you can provide feedback on up to two Cosyne abstracts, kindly sign up by 15 November using this link: https://forms.gle/SpsLkkmku2d5mCE38   Mentees, to receive feedback that could enhance your Cosyne abstract, please sign up by the evening of 15 November at the same link: https://forms.gle/SpsLkkmku2d5mCE38

                 COSYNE 2024 COMMITTEES

   General Chairs: Jessica Cardin (Yale) and Blake Richards (McGill)
   Program Chairs: Bing Brunton (U Washington) and Chandramouli Chandrasekaran (Boston U)
   Workshop Chairs: SueYeon Chung (NYU/Flatiron) and Andrew Saxe (Oxford)
   Tutorial Chair: Il Memming Park (Champalimaud)
   Undergraduate Travel Chairs: Kimberly Stachenfeld (DeepMind) and Marcelo Mattar (NYU)
   DEIA Committee: Hysell Oviedo (Washington U) and Luke Sjulson (Albert Einstein)
   Fundraising Chair: Michael Long (NYU)
   Social Media Chair: Sabera Talukder (Caltech)
   Audio-Video Media Chair: Carlos Stein Brito (Champalimaud)
   Poster Design: Maja Bialon

   Bing Brunton (U Washington) Co-chair
   Chandramouli Chandrasekaran (Boston U) Co-chair
   Yashar Ahmadian (UCL)
   Athena Akrami (UCL)
   Timothy Buschman (Princeton)
   Alex Cayco Gajic (Ecole Normale Superieure)
   Hannah Choi (Gatech)
   Brian DePasquale (Boston U)
   Sridhar Devarajan (Indian Inst Sci)
   Laura Driscoll (Stanford)
   Ann Duan (UCL)
   Lea Duncker (Stanford)
   Annegret Falkner (Princeton)
   Rainer Friedrich (Friedrich Miescher Institute)
   Juan Gallego (Imperial)
   Matthew Golub (U Washington)
   Bilal Haider (Georgia Tech)
   Kiah Hardcastle (Harvard)
   Kameron Harris (W Washington U)
   Santiago Jaramillo (U Oregon)
   Jonathan Kao (UCLA)
   Kohitij Kar (York U)
   Ann Kennedy (Northwestern)
   Guillaume Lajoie (MILA)
   Laura Lewis (MIT)
   Camilo Libedinsky (National U Singapore)
   Scott Linderman (Stanford)
   Ashok Litwin-Kumar (Columbia)
   Emily Mackevicius (Basis)
   Jorge Mejias (U Amsterdam)
   Leenoy Meshulam (U Washington)
   Jonathan Michaels (York U)
   James Murray (U Oregon)
   Hendrikje Nienborg (NIH)
   Gouki Okazawa (Chinese Acad Sci)
   Marino Pagan (UCL)
   Chethan Pandarinath (Emory)
   Il Memming Park (Champalimaud)
   Hannah Payne (Columbia)
   Talmo Pereira (Salk)
   Supratim Ray (Indian Inst Sci)
   Erin Rich (Mount Sinai)
   Ben Scott (Boston U)
   Alireza Soltani (Dartmouth)
   Nicholas Steinmetz (U Washington)
   Carsen Stringer (HHMI)
   Marie Suver (Vanderbilt)
   Aparna Suvrathan (McGill)
   John Tuthill (U Washington)
   Ali Weber (Bryn Mawr)
   Brady Weissbourd (MIT)
   Alex Williams (NYU)
   Klaus Wimmer (CRM)
   Brad Wyble (Penn State)
   Dan Yamins (Stanford)

   Stephanie Palmer (U Chicago)
   Anne-Marie Oswald (U Pittsburgh)
   Zachary Mainen (Champalimaud)
   Alexandre Pouget (U Geneva)
   Anthony Zador (CSHL)

    meeting [at] cosyne.org

                COSYNE MAILING LISTS

Please consider adding yourself to Cosyne mailing lists (groups) to receive email updates with various Cosyne-related information and join in helpful discussions. See Cosyne.org -> About-> Mailing lists for details.

More information about the visionlist mailing list