[visionlist] COSYNE 2024: Travel grants; Pre-Cosyne Brainhack

Tomas Hromadka tomas.hromadka at gmail.com
Sun Dec 24 12:51:37 -04 2023


Computational and Systems Neuroscience 2024 (Cosyne)

29 February - 03 March 2024
Lisbon, Portugal

04 March - 05 March 2024
Cascais, Portugal




   Registration is now open
   Travel grants applications are now open.

   Travel grant applications deadlines:
     *31 December 2023, 11.59PM PST (Undergraduate Travel Grant)*
      24 January 2024, 11.59PM PST (Other travel grants)


The annual Cosyne meeting provides an inclusive forum for the exchange of empirical and theoretical approaches to problems in systems neuroscience, in order to understand how neural systems function.

The MAIN MEETING is single-track. A set of invited talks is selected by the Executive Committee, and additional talks and posters are selected by the Program Committee, based on submitted abstracts. The WORKSHOPS feature in-depth discussion of current topics of interest, in a small group setting.

Cosyne topics include but are not limited to: neural basis of behavior, sensory and motor systems, circuitry, learning, neural coding, natural scene statistics, dendritic computation, neural basis of persistent activity, nonlinear receptive field mapping, representations of time and sequence, reward systems, decision-making, synaptic plasticity, map formation and plasticity, population coding, attention, neuromodulation, and computation with spiking networks.

                 TRAVEL GRANTS

Applications are now open for travel grants to attend the conference. Each awardee will receive at least $500 to help offset the costs of travel, registration, and accommodations. Larger grants may be available to those traveling from outside Europe. Special consideration is given to scientists who have not previously attended the meeting, under-represented minorities, students who are attending the meeting together with a mentor, undergraduate students, and authors of submitted Cosyne abstracts. We currently offer five travel grant programs for New Attendees, Presenters, Mentors, Undergraduates, and Childcare travel grants. For details on applying, see www.cosyne.org/travel-grants.

                  PRE-COSYNE BRAINHACK

Pre-COSYNE Brainhack is a satellite event and hackathon from 27-28 February 2024 in Lisbon, Portugal, immediately preceding the COSYNE conference. This hackathon brings together people who are passionate about open science, open-source tools, and collaboration around computational and systems neuroscience. It provides an opportunity for people from different institutions to work together on projects of shared interest and learn from each other.

Anyone is welcome to participate. Space is limited to 25 people. To learn more and apply, please visit the Pre-COSYNE Brainhack website: https://pre-cosyne-brainhack.github.io/hackathon2024

                 COSYNE 2024 SPEAKERS

   Blaise Aguera y Arcas (Google Research)
   Dora Angelaki (NYU)
   Silvia Arber (U Basel)
   Laura Busse (LMU Munich)
   Lars Chittka (Queen Mary U)
   Kafui Dzirasa (Duke U)
   Elizabeth Hong (Caltech)
   Alex Pouget (U Geneva)
   Rajesh Rao (U Washington)
   Mac Shine (U Sydney)
   David Sussillo (Meta Reality Labs & Stanford)
   Claire Wyart (ICM Brain & Spine Institute)

                 COSYNE 2024 COMMITTEES

   General Chairs: Jessica Cardin (Yale) and Blake Richards (McGill)
   Program Chairs: Bing Brunton (U Washington) and Chandramouli Chandrasekaran (Boston U)
   Workshop Chairs: SueYeon Chung (NYU/Flatiron) and Andrew Saxe (Oxford)
   Tutorial Chair: Il Memming Park (Champalimaud)
   Undergraduate Travel Chairs: Kimberly Stachenfeld (DeepMind) and Marcelo Mattar (NYU)
   DEIA Committee: Hysell Oviedo (Washington U) and Luke Sjulson (Albert Einstein)
   Fundraising Chair: Michael Long (NYU)
   Social Media Chair: Sabera Talukder (Caltech)
   Audio-Video Media Chair: Carlos Stein Brito (Champalimaud)
   Poster Design: Maja Bialon

   Bing Brunton (U Washington) Co-chair
   Chandramouli Chandrasekaran (Boston U) Co-chair
   Yashar Ahmadian (U Cambridge)
   Athena Akrami (UCL)
   Timothy Buschman (Princeton)
   Alex Cayco Gajic (Ecole Normale Superieure)
   Hannah Choi (Gatech)
   Brian DePasquale (Boston U)
   Sridhar Devarajan (Indian Inst Sci)
   Laura Driscoll (Stanford)
   Ann Duan (UCL)
   Lea Duncker (Stanford)
   Annegret Falkner (Princeton)
   Rainer Friedrich (Friedrich Miescher Institute)
   Juan Gallego (Imperial)
   Matthew Golub (U Washington)
   Bilal Haider (Georgia Tech)
   Kiah Hardcastle (Harvard)
   Kameron Harris (W Washington U)
   Santiago Jaramillo (U Oregon)
   Jonathan Kao (UCLA)
   Kohitij Kar (York U)
   Ann Kennedy (Northwestern)
   Guillaume Lajoie (MILA)
   Laura Lewis (MIT)
   Camilo Libedinsky (National U Singapore)
   Scott Linderman (Stanford)
   Ashok Litwin-Kumar (Columbia)
   Emily Mackevicius (Basis)
   Jorge Mejias (U Amsterdam)
   Leenoy Meshulam (U Washington)
   Jonathan Michaels (York U)
   James Murray (U Oregon)
   Hendrikje Nienborg (NIH)
   Gouki Okazawa (Chinese Acad Sci)
   Marino Pagan (UCL)
   Chethan Pandarinath (Emory)
   Il Memming Park (Champalimaud)
   Hannah Payne (Columbia)
   Talmo Pereira (Salk)
   Supratim Ray (Indian Inst Sci)
   Erin Rich (Mount Sinai)
   Ben Scott (Boston U)
   Alireza Soltani (Dartmouth)
   Nicholas Steinmetz (U Washington)
   Carsen Stringer (HHMI)
   Marie Suver (Vanderbilt)
   Aparna Suvrathan (McGill)
   John Tuthill (U Washington)
   Ali Weber (Bryn Mawr)
   Brady Weissbourd (MIT)
   Alex Williams (NYU)
   Klaus Wimmer (CRM)
   Brad Wyble (Penn State)
   Dan Yamins (Stanford)

   Stephanie Palmer (U Chicago)
   Anne-Marie Oswald (U Pittsburgh)
   Zachary Mainen (Champalimaud)
   Alexandre Pouget (U Geneva)
   Anthony Zador (CSHL)

    meeting [at] cosyne.org

                COSYNE MAILING LISTS

Please consider adding yourself to Cosyne mailing lists (groups) to receive email updates with various Cosyne-related information and join in helpful discussions. See www.cosyne.org/mailing-lists lists for details.

More information about the visionlist mailing list