[visionlist] Nominations for the 2024 Boynton Lecture (Deadline April 5th 2024)

Alex Wade wade at wadelab.net
Thu Feb 15 12:31:53 -04 2024

Re: Nominations for the 2024 Boynton Lecture (Deadline April 5th 2024)

The Optica Fall Vision Meeting planning committee is now accepting
nominations for the meeting's biennial Robert M. Boynton Lecture. The
committee is hoping to receive nominations that reflect the full
diversity of the vision community. Nominations received on or before
April 5, 2024 will be considered.

The lecture was created in honor of Professor Boynton’s contributions
to the Optica vision community, and will be presented at the 2024 OSA
Meeting in York, UK. Professor Boynton (1924-2006) was the recipient
of numerous awards including the Ives and Tillyer awards, and was
elected to the National Academy of Sciences and Society of
Experimental Psychologists. As a young professor at the University of
Rochester, he founded the Center for Visual Science.

Previous Boynton Lecturers include Rhea Eskew (2001), Russell De
Valois (2003), Joel Pokorny and Vivienne Smith (2005), Gerald Jacobs
(2007), David Williams (2009), Dennis Dacey (2011), Jack Werner
(2013), David Brainard (2017),  Christine Curcio (2019), Andrew
Stockman (2022) and Rachel Wong (2023).

Nominations may be made by any member of the vision community.
Previously considered nominees are eligible to be re-nominated. The
nomination should consist of an email briefly highlighting the
nominee’s impact on the field of vision science. The nomination email
can be co-signed.

Nominations will be reviewed by the Optica Fall Vision Meeting
planning committee.

Please submit nominations to Alex Wade, Chairperson of the Optica FVM
Planning Committee (wade at wadelab.net), no later than April 5, 2024,
with subject line “Boynton lecture nomination”.


The Optica Fall Vision Meeting Planning Committee

Professor Alex Wade
Department of Psychology
University of York
Heslington, UK
YO10 5DD

More information about the visionlist mailing list